Latest News


UCLA professors elected to the National Academy of Sciences for 2018

UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center researcher Utpal Banerjee among newest members honored by the academy

Post Date:May 01, 2018 10:00 AM
FacultyRoger Lo

Two UCLA professors, Utpal Banerjee and Andrea Bertozzi, were elected to the National Academy of Sciences today in recognition of their “distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.”

Dr. Uptal Banerjee

Membership in the academy is one of the highest honors that a U.S. scientist can receive. Its members have included Albert Einstein, Robert Oppenheimer, Thomas Edison, Orville Wright and Alexander Graham Bell. The academy announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates.

Banerjee is the Irving and Jean Stone Endowed Professor of Life Sciences and a distinguished professor in the department of molecular, cell and developmental biology in the UCLA College, and of biological chemistry in the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. He is also co-director of the Eli and Edythe Broad Center of Regenerative Medicine and Stem Cell Research at UCLA.

Read more via UCLA Newsroom...

Return to full list >>